School Improvement in Maryland

MISA: Maryland Integrated Science Assessment

What is MISA?

MISA Descriptive Material

Maryland Public Schools- Testing Content and Data

Maryland Assessment

Some Facts about MISA:

  • The assessments meet the requirements of the federal Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA).
  • The assessments are administered in Grade 5, Grade 8, and High School.
  • The assessments include both selected response and constructed response items. Some selected response items are technology enhanced items.
  • The assessments are online assessments taken on a computer.
  • The assessments were developed by MSDE with input from Maryland educators.


MISA Descriptive Material

Maryland Public Schools- Testing Content and Data

Standards being assessed

Next Generation Science Standards

The Maryland Integrated Science Assessment (MISA) are science assessments in Grade 5, 8 and High School. These assessments provide educators, parents, and the public with information on student progress towards science literacy.

Grade 5 and 8 MISA

The Maryland Integrated Science Assessment is administered to all students in fifth grade and all students in eighth grade every spring. The test was first administered in the 2016-17 school year. It replaces the former Maryland School Assessment (MSA) in science.

The assessment is constructed with four "units." In each of the first three units, students will read information about three separate phenomena and answer items about each. One of those items will be a constructed response item, and the other items will be a combination of selected response, fill-in-the-blank, matching, and other technology enhanced item types.

Units 1-3

- 3 item sets in each, which are based on scientific phenomena
- 1 constructed response item for each set
- 5 other types of items for each set

Units 4

- 1 item set similar to those in units 1-3
- 1 extended item set that may include a simulation