School Improvement in Maryland

Standards: 9-12

Core Learning Goals

Maryland students must pass four high school assessments to receive their high school diploma: English, Government, Algebra/Data Analysis, and Biology. They take these assessments after they complete the related course. The Core Learning Goals for these four courses define what students need to know and be able to do on each assessment.

Algebra/Data Analysis

State Curriculum

The State Curriculum is currently being drafted for high school and will define what students should know and be able to do in the core content areas as well as elective subjects. State Curriculum has been drafted for the following subjects:

Algebra/Data Analysis
Algebra II [pdf 105k]
Biology [draft pdf 310k]
US History
Physical Education
English Language Proficiency
School Library Media

English [pdf 150k]
World Languages
Technology Education
Fine Arts

At the high school level, the State Curriculum documents integrate the format from the Pre-K - 8 State Curriculum with the language from the Core Learning Goals. The Pre-K - 8 State Curriculum format begins with content standards or broad, measurable statements about what students should know and be able to do. Indicator statements provide the next level of specificity and begin to narrow the focus for teachers. Finally, the objectives provide teachers with very clear information about what specific learning should occur. The High School State Curriculum meshes the standards, indicators and objectives from the State Curriculum documents with the core learning goals, expectations, and indicators from the Core Learning Goal documents. In the assessed content areas, the State Curriculum document aligns the Maryland Content Standards and the Maryland Assessment Program or the High School Assessments.